Fire Colour One (Review #82)

Fire Colour OneToday’s book is Fire Colour One:

Author: Jenny Valentine

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Summary: A teenage girl will soon discover, there are some things which burn even brighter than fire.

Iris’s father Ernest is at the end of his life.

Her best friend Thurston seems like a distant memory to her.

Her mother has declared war. She means to get her hands on Ernest’s priceless art collection so that she can afford to live the high life.

But Ernest has other ideas.

There are things he wants Iris to know. Things he can tell her and things that must wait till he’s gone. What she does after that is up to her.

This is one of the current Carnegie Books shortlisted for 2016.

I enjoyed this book, with it’s writing, and consistently attractive plot line. The ‘pyromaniac’ aspect of the book was extremely intriguing, and actually really unique, from what I’ve read. Additionally, I found the character building between Ernest and Iris very well-written, and I found that as the reader, you were able to build the images of the characters, at the same time as inter-character building, as they had only just truly met.

Valentine’s writing drew me in instantly, and from there I was hooked. My only issue is that I couldn’t make my mind up whether I would aim this book towards people my age, or whether it was for that age of slightly younger than YA, but older than kiddie books.

Overall, I would say that it is an intriguing book, with great, unusual concepts, and a great ending which I enjoyed.

 

Leave a Reply

