The Sky Is Everywhere (Review #74)

The Sky Is EverywhereToday’s book is The Sky Is Everywhere:

Author: Jandy Nelson

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Summary: Lennie Walker, seventeen, Wuthering Heights obsessed, clarinet player, band geek. Also, hopeless romantic, prone to scattering poems all over town, and as of four weeks ago – sisterless…. 

Okay, so this book was kind of a disappointment to me. My best friend and many others raved about this book, telling how amazing it was, and how the writing was flawless. The poems were inspiring and whatnot.

But, it really wasn’t. It wasn’t entertaining. I found myself feeling stuck in someone else’s boring life, with no chance to escape. Not something I want.

Yes, the writing was good, but almost TOO perfect. Too elaborate. Okay, I consider myself sometimes well-spoken, but this was very pristine.

The concept, not my type. I mean, really? Girl hides poems, falls in love with two guys, whilst giving the excuse of grieving for her sister. Just don’t.

I found certain points very gripping, and an escape from this book seemed to be nearing the end as I zoomed through pages. Then, I hit a bit where I sat for ages, wondering what the heck was going on. Wondering whether it was worth it.

Not only that, but I felt that the author was pushing to get as many memorable quotes within there as possible, and some of them were beautiful, and others – tacky.

But, that cover is stunning, and I do love it. I mean, the poems were quite beautiful as well, but I found some of them a bit strange.

Overall, a book that I suppose I’d recommend to people who are obsessed with weird romances, and awkward contemporaries, but it just wasn’t my thing.

Leave a Reply

