Stand-Off (Review #71)

Stand-OffToday’s book is Stand-Off:

Author: Andrew Smith

Series: #2 in the Winger Series

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Summary: It’s his last year at Pine Mountain, and Ryan Dean should be focused on his future, but instead, he’s haunted by his past. His rugby coach expects him to fill the roles once played by his lost friend, Joey, as the rugby team’s stand-off and new captain. And somehow he’s stuck rooming with twelve-year-old freshman Sam Abernathy, a cooking whiz with extreme claustrophobia and a serious crush on Annie Altman—aka Ryan Dean’s girlfriend, for now, anyway.

Equally distressing, Ryan Dean’s doodles and drawings don’t offer the relief they used to. He’s convinced N.A.T.E. (the Next Accidental Terrible Experience) is lurking around every corner—and then he runs into Joey’s younger brother Nico, who makes Ryan Dean feel paranoid that he’s avoiding him. Will Ryan Dean ever regain his sanity?

I didn’t like this book as much as the first one, simply because I felt it was forced. There wasn’t much of a storyline, and when there was, it wasn’t as exciting. I hate Ryan Dean anyway, but most of the time, characters I hate can still make the book good. Not in this case. His arrogance just annoyed me the whole time, and I found myself screaming at him a lot.

I would have like more comics too, because they’re what really drew the first book together.

Okay, one thing I did like – Sam. He is such a cutie, and I don’t see why Ryan Dean couldn’t love him from the start. I don’t think I could’ve read this book without Sam being in it.

Overall, a very blocky book that to me, felt forced as everyone wanted a sequel. But, you should still read it because there’s Sam.

Leave a Reply

