The DUFF (Review #69)

So, today’s review is going to be a little bit different. I’ve got Sam here with me and we’re going to do a joint review, because, well, why not? Sam will be in italics, and I’ll be in normal font, because I’m normal and she’s not… 😉

The DUFFToday’s book is The DUFF:

Author: Kody Keplinger

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars/ 4 out of 5 stars

Summary: Meet Bianca. Hamilton High’s resident DUFF. Apparently.

Seventeen year old Bianca Piper knows she’s not the hottest girl at school, but when school jock and man-slut Wesley casually refers to her as a DUFF – Designated Ugly Fat Friend – the gloves are off! But then before she knows it, Bianca finds herself in a secret enemies with benefits relationship with Wesley. There’s a thin line between love and hate then Bianca has crossed it. She just never thought she was capable of breaking anyone’s heart.

Okay, so I (Katherine) clearly loved this book more than Sam did, and I loved it for all the right reasons. At the time, I was suffering with severe Romance Necessity – an issue only solved by reading a contemporary/romance novel. I picked up this charmer and was instantly drawn in. Its cliche moments just made the whole thing so much better, and Bianca and Wesley are one of my OTPs. The writing was stunning, and the storyline flowed perfectly.

Even though my rating is obviously not as high as Katherine’s, I still did enjoy this book. However, I did find it very cliche which isn’t something I always go for. I agree with Katherine and think that it was written well and thought that it gave a good message throughout the story: “You’re only as awesome as you think you are” (a quote from Wesley). The only problem that I had was that I found it too cliche; but if that’s what you like, go for it!

Overall, a funny romance novel that will sweep you off your feet with its characters, writing and storyline. A good book when you’re looking for a cliche, sappy love story.

Leave a Reply

