The 100 (Review #66)

The 100Today’s book is The 100:

Author: Kass Morgan

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Series: #1 in the Hundred Series

Summary: Ever since a devastating nuclear war, humanity has lived on spaceships far above Earth’s radioactive surface.

Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents – considered expendable by society – are being sent on a dangerous missions: to re-colonize the planet. It could be their second chance at life… or it could be a suicide mission.

CLARKE was arrested for treason, though she’s haunted by the memory of what she really did. WELLS, the chancellor’s son, came to Earth for the girl he loves – but will she ever forgive him? Reckless BELLAMY fought his way onto the transport pod to protect his sister, the other half of the only siblings in the universe. And GLASS managed to escape back onto the ship, only to find that life there is just as dangerous as she feared it would be on Earth.

Well, then, Let’s get started. This book is very strange. All I ever heard was people raving about the TV series. So, being the person I am, I picked up the book instead. I liked it. Many people didn’t. The difference: I haven’t watched the TV rendition. Everyone says that the TV series is better but I don’t want to try it now. I liked the book, and I don’t want to ruin that.

Whilst I think that Wells is a pain who doesn’t think with his brain, (“To save the girl he loved, he’d have to endanger the entire human race.”) I loved Glass, and Bellamy and Octavia. Clarke doesn’t deserve anyone, and so she was added to my Characters I Wouldn’t Mind Killing List along with Wells.

The blurb to this book is very misleading. You expect an amazing survival book full of convicts and instead, you end up with WAY too much lovey-dovey stuff, and a bunch of people who couldn’t do anything bad if it came and punched them in the face.

That said, I did really enjoy this book. It’s a quick, simple read for people who just want a bit of sci-fi, dystopian romance (Everyone.) and from what I’ve heard, you should just check out the TV Series instead. I might consider reading the next few books. Emphasis on Might.

Leave a Reply

