Winger (Review #65)

I am a bad, bad person. I have neglected this blog for too long. I feel awful. I’m currently within those 2 years of GCSEs where everything piles up until you’re drowning in stress. Therefore, I will try to keep posting on the blog, but when I cannot, just know that I will instead be revising for another piece of coursework/exam.

WingerToday’s book is Winger:

Author: Andrew Smith

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 rugby balls 😉

Series: #1 in the Winger Series

Summary: Ryan Dean West’s life is complicated.

He’s a student at Pine Mountain, a boarding school for rich kids. He’s sharing a room with the biggest bully on the rugby team. And he’s totally in love with his best friend Annie, who thinks of him as a little kid.

With the help of his mates and his talent for doodling comics, Ryan Dean is trying his best to get a handle on school, life and rugby. But when the unthinkable happens, he has to find a way to hold onto the important things – no matter what.

Okay, so my emotions throughout this book were like one of those annoying graphs that you’re given to analyse in a science exam. Up, then down, then all over the place. How I went from laughing, to furiously sobbing within a matter of seconds, I do not know.

All I know was that I did enjoy this book, but it isn’t worth all the 5 star reviews that it has got. Ryan Dean infuriated me at times, and he was just like every other student. I read to get away from school, not to remind me of the horrors of exams, and bullies.

That said, this book was very realistic, and believable which I did like. And believe me, the ending was shocking enough.

I didn’t feel like the rugby aspect was big enough in the book to feature as the title and main focus of the book. I wanted him to have to choose between normal life or rugby. To have to feature games, and actually tell me loads about rugby. That wasn’t the case. Instead, we learnt about how the team was, and why he hated the bully on the team.

To be very honest, I just found the book very average. No amazing storyline. In fact, my rating would be lower if it wasn’t for the ending. Oh my, that ending. Prepare yourself.

Leave a Reply

