Lord of The Flies (Review #62)

Lord of The FliesToday’s book is… Lord of The Flies:

Author: William Golding

Rating: 1.5 out of 5 beasts 😉

Summary: A plane crashes on a desert island and the only survivors, a group of schoolboys, assemble on the beach and wait to be rescued.

By day, they inhabit a land of bright fantastic birds and dark blue seas, but at night their dreams are haunted by the image of a terrifying beast.

As the boys’ delicate sense of order fades, so do their childish dreams, transforming into something more primitive, and their behaviour starts to take on a murderous, savage significance.

I hated this book for many reasons and am vaguely ashamed at people in society for making me read this. I may have had my English analysis head on, meaning that I tried to find the significance in each and every line, even when the author probably just wanted there to be palm trees with coconuts, and not so that it signifies a foreshadow for some mysterious death, cracking the boys’ welfare apart just like a coconut would do to their head. You see… That’s utter nonsense and I wish I’d never thought of it, (Though it did come in handy when we just studied Lord of The Flies a month after me reading this.) The concept was a bit ‘off’ and I didn’t see any proper development in the way I like it. It was all, “Where’s Piggy’s glasses?”, “Let’s ignore the fact that another kid has gone missing and argue about a fire.” The whole beast idea was all rubbish drivel, and the characters were all so whiney that I wonder if I was like that as a child.

The back of the book states that: “First published in 1954, Lord of The Flies is one of the most celebrated and widely read of modern classics.” On many accounts is this very wrong. Celebrated. Let’s all celebrate a book about society’s next generation collapsing over fire and glasses. Okay, it’s widely read. But, a modern classic? Really? To me, a widely read modern classic is Harry Potter, and even now, it’s more likely to be The Hunger Games. Never would I have thought, “Oh, that modern classic, Lord of the Flies? Yes, it describes the latest ideas, and trends in literature.”

Sorry if it seems like I’m rambling, but I just hated this book. It’s lucky it got 1.5 stars, but I did like the starting description. Anyway, overall, a book that I wouldn’t recommend, and to be honest, I think society’s lying when we all say that we love it. (After all, you don’t want to get in an issue with your friend who loved the book…)

Leave a Reply

