Ceri’s Updates/Reviews (#35)

Hello! This week I shall be reviewing Keep Holding On by Susane Colasanti, who I just wrote a post about! Warning: This is a very emotional book and is more than likely to cause tears.

A romantic and empowering book about bullying

Noelle’s life is all about survival. Even her best friend doesn’t know how much she gets bullied, or the ways her mom neglects her. Noelle’s kept so much about her life a secret for so long that when her long time crush Julian Porter starts paying attention to her, she’s terrified. Surely it’s safer to stay hidden than to risk the pain of a broken heart. But when the antagonism of her classmates takes a dramatic turn, Noelle realizes it’s time to stand up for herself–and for the love that keeps her holding on.

I really like Keep Holding On but it is actually my least favourite of Susane Colasanti’s books. The only reason it’s my least favourite is because the other ones were less distressing and I’m very sensitive so I found myself enjoying the others a bit more. However, I do think that it is really important that this book was written because it is written for people who have had a really tough time. The dedication at the beginning of the book already had me in tears especially the part where she said: “For every other teen who felt like they couldn’t hold on anymore”.

This book is so emotional. I could not believe what I was reading and there was definitely no holding back. Just thinking about what happened has made my eyes brim with tears. As soon as I finish writing this I’m going to spend the rest of the evening reading it, it’s so amazing I can’t wait. The thing that sticks in my mind was that Noelle (the main character) had a box filled with a pack of razor blades, an X-Acto knife and two boxes of sleeping pills. I’ve never been suicidal so I had no idea what it was like to be in that position. It was beautifully written.

Aw Julian (the main guy) was my fav. I liked him because it showed how there are people that care in this world. Noelle was treated in such an awful way it was practically unimaginable. I was ecstatic that Julian went out with Noelle because she deserves some happiness in her life. Julian was incredibly thoughtful! It is really important to reach out to people suffering from bullying and I really appreciate Susane Colasanti for doing that. Yes, it was very upsetting to read, but it is definitely important to read about things like this. It is definitely worth the read!

I hope some people after reading this will choose to read Keep Holding On! This beautiful book will always have a special place in my heart. It gives me hope and reminds me that there are other people who are going through much worse than me. This book gives people a reason to keep holding on.

Leave a Reply

