Ceri’s Updates/Reviews (#33)

Hey!

I actually wrote this review straight after I finished reading I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, which would’ve been a few weeks ago. I was so so SO excited to write this review because I fell in love with this book.

From the author of The Sky Is Every­where, a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying – all at once. For fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver. Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close – until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don’t realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

I hardly ever buy books in store but I saw this book in Waterstones the other day and I was mind blown. It was love at first sight. When I saw Soulmates in Waterstones, I just knew I would love it and I had that exact same feeling. The cover is absolutely stunning and I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN, whaattt. That is just the best title omg I was having a mini breakdown. THEN I read the blurb and it said it was a LOVE STORY with a boy called NOAH in. That was when I thought: this is the one. I then realised it was by the author of The Sky Is Everywhere, which I’ve wanted to read since forever.

I was prepared to read a lovely teen love story and still absolutely love it (like Soulmates and The Kissing Booth) but oh no- this book was so much more than that. For once in my life (fav song) I had no idea what was going to happen, or what sort of story it was the whole way through; I was captivated. There was no way that I would have guessed any of the events in the book. I was still trying to work out who the two boys were that the twins would fall in love with when I was halfway through the book. I mean all of this is a good way, I think it’s unbelievable that somebody could write as well as this. Oh and the words, THE WORDS. Wow wow wow. It was so beautiful. I kept crying because it would say things like: “You say you are so sad, maybe that is why. No sun. No trees.”

“I lost the stars and the oceans too,” I tell him.

 

The ideas though. Woah. Noah and Jude dividing the world between them was the best. I loved the things Noah came up with and how he painted things; I wish I had his mind. I really want the cubist drawing of Oscar Noah drew, I would have adored it. THE DESCRIPTION MY OH MY. The way they described the characters was sensational. I love how Oscar’s face was broken and whatever else he was described as… like his eyes- one brown, one green. UGH.

I so wish I could just upload a voice recording because I can’t formulate words that explain how amazing this book is. I haven’t even got started on Noah and Brian’s relationship or Jude and Oscar’s relationship. How about goals? Why can’t these people be alive? Those two couples are just perfection. They could not be paired with better people. Oh and the bible that Jude always goes on about… that is so something I would get into it. It’s awesome. All those little things that it says: “If a boy gives a girl an orange her love for him will multiply”. I love that.

I could go on forever but it’s difficult for me to string together sentences… PLEASE READ IT. You just have to read it and then you will understand what the hell I’m going on about. God, I cannot wait for Katherine to read it so we can talk about it. If she doesn’t like it, I will be her slave for life.

Read it.

Leave a Reply

