The Haunting of Sunshine Girl (Review #56)

Today’s book is The Haunting of Sunshine Girl:

Author: Paige McKenzie

Series: #1 in the Sunshine Girl? Series (Not too sure what the series will be called!)

Publisher: Macmillan Books

Summary:In that place where you’re more asleep than awake anymore, I hear something else. A phrase uttered in a child’s voice, no more than a whisper: Night Night.”

Shortly after her sixteenth birthday, Sunshine Griffith and her mother Kat move away from sunny Texas, to the rain-drenched town of Ridgemont, Washington. Though Sunshine is adopted, she and Kat have always been close. But from the moment they enter Ridgemont, Sunshine feels her world darken with an eeriness she can’t place. Even if her mum doesn’t recognise it, Sunshine knows something about their house is just… creepy.

In the days that follow, things only get stranger. Sunshine is followed around the house by an icy breeze, phantom wind slams her bedroom door shut, and eventually, the laughter Sunshine hears on her first night evolves into sobs. She can hardly believe it, but as the spirits haunting her house become more frightening and dangerous, Sunshine must accept who she is, pass the test before her and save her mother from a fate worse than death.

I received a copy of this from the publisher for an honest review on maximumpop.co.uk and my blog. Firstly, I don’t know whether it’s in the main book, but the two fonts in my ARC are beautiful and are now my favourite fonts.

I had sadly not seen any of the webseries but when I saw the synopsis, I was immediately drawn in… I’ve never liked horror or terrifying books/movies but I wanted to try a book. This was perfect, as the author somehow managed to weave the terrifying parts into the story carefully, ensuring that there was always a reason which I liked.

I can’t even say a best bit – all of it was too good… I loved Nolan so much and the ghostly activity was very well-written too!

I have definitely recommended this book to all of my friends – even the ones who hate horror because I felt like almost everybody would like this book!

I think the book definitely applies to both genders equally, both girls and boys will love this book! Horror is a genre which can apply to both genders and I like that… I hate stereotyping books – they were written for everybody.

The ending was amazingly infuriating. I loved the last few pages, right up to the very last full stop and I’m only annoyed that I can’t get my hands on the second book now! I really enjoyed it and want to see more of Sunshine and her life…

Leave a Reply

