She Is Not Invisible (Review #54)

Today’s book is She Is Not Invisible:

Author: Marcus Sedgwick

Publisher: Indigo Books

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Summary: Laureth Peak’s father is a writer. For years he’s been trying, and failing, to write a novel about coincidence. His wife thinks he’s obsessed, Laureth thinks he’s on the verge of a breakdown. He’s supposed to be doing research in Austria, so when his notebook shows up in New York, Laureth knows something is wrong.

On impulse she steals her mother’s credit card and heads for the States, taking her strange little brother Benjamin with her. Reunited with the notebook, they begin to follow clues inside, trying to find their wayward father. Ahead lie challenges and threats, all of which are that much tougher for Laureth than they would be for any other 16-year old. Because Laureth Peak is blind.

I didn’t think I would enjoy this book one bit.

How wrong I was. I went in completely blind (Oh the irony), only knowing that I was asked to review it for my school as it has won the Oxfordshire Book Awards. In the first few pages, I realized she was blind and I was quite proud, after reading reviews where people didn’t get it until she announced it.

Laureth being blind had a unique twist to the book as I liked the fact that the book wasn’t just visual description. Not only that, it was an unusual storyline, where each carefully thought out word clearly intertwined with a previous. The coincidences were amazing and after I realized that the book ends on the reoccurring number 354, my delight cannot be written down in words. I have read Midwinterblood – and disliked it but I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

The pace was good, the prose like liquid gold and the overall story?

Let’s just say, it won’t be a coincidence if you read this…

Leave a Reply

