Ceri’s Updates/Reviews (#26)

іHola Chicas! (y chicos, lo siento)

So, following the rules of the alphabet, I guess I am on letter B. After furiously chucking books out of my book shelves, I finally found a book (that I remember) beginning with B and that book was Beautiful Creatures. Much like The Fault in Our Stars, it seems I have mentioned it a lot but not reviewed it, so now is my chance!

Is falling in love the beginning . . . or the end?

In Ethan Wate’s hometown there lies the darkest of secrets . . .

There is a girl. Slowly, she pulled the hood from her head . . . Green eyes, black hair. Lena Duchannes.

There is a curse. On the Sixteenth Moon, the Sixteenth Year, the Book will take what it’s been promised. And no one can stop it.

In the end, there is a grave.

Lena and Ethan become bound together by a deep, powerful love. But Lena is cursed and on her sixteenth birthday, her fate will be decided. Ethan never even saw it coming.

I was very sceptical to begin with about reading this book. My Mum bought it for me just before the movie came out because she thought I would love it and I said I would hate it. However it turns out my mum was right. She seems to always be right about things apart from maths, oh my god. I thought the book was going to be bad because I know this sounds really bad but I like the main character to be hot and yea, Alden Ehrenreich is really not hot. The cast didn’t look that great on the front cover so I thought nah mate. I also thought it would be really southern and similar to Of Mice and Men. I like Of Mice and Men, but I thought it would be strange for a YA book and of course there’s nothing wrong with a bit of Southern but I didn’t want it to be all Cowboys and yee-ha. Ethan Wate is not a very enticing name either. However, out of sympathy for my mum I chose to read it and all my predictions were proved wrong.

These days there are so, so, SO many vampire/werewolf books. Even though The Mortal Instruments is mainly about Nephilim, it still includes vampires and werewolves. This book just focuses on casters (or witches) and doesn’t copy anyone else’s work. It was refreshing to read about casters, because I don’t think there’s any other books out there that refer to casters and waywards etc. It made the whole series less predictable because I don’t know much about that world. It felt less supernatural in a good way because there aren’t any capes, wands and wizardry schools. Beautiful Creatures is a real book about real people (well casters aren’t real but you know what I mean). What’s even more interesting is that it’s FINALLY FROM A GUY’S POINT OF VIEW. Woo hoo!! Most of the YA books I read are from a female’s point of view so this was a different, brilliant read. I would definitely recommend this book; it is seriously spellbinding and awesome.

Leave a Reply

