Ceri’s Updates/Reviews (#25)

Hello, is it me you’re looking for?

I decided for the next 26 Monday posts I shall be doing a review of a book for each letter of the alphabet eg. Anne of Green Gables, Bart Simpson’s life story, Charlie and the chocolate factory etc. I will not necessarily be reviewing my favourite book beginning with that letter though, as I will just do whatever book I come across first on google. I think All I need is my fav book beginning with ‘A’ but today I felt like reviewing Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison.

Angus: My mixed-breed cat, half domestic tabby, half Scottish wildcat. The size of a small Labrador, only mad. Likes to stalk Mr. and Mrs. Next Door’s poodle. I used to drag him around on a lead, but, as I explained to Mrs. Next Door, he ate it.

Thongs: Stupid underwear worn by old Swotty Knickers, Lindsay. What’s the point of them, anyway? They just go up your bum, as far as I can tell.

Full-Frontal Snogging: Kissing with the trimmings, lip to lip, open mouth, tongues…everything (apart from dribble, which is never acceptable). As taught to me by a professional snogger.

In this wildly funny journal of a year in the life of Georgia Nicolson, British author Louise Rennison has perfectly captured the soaring joys and bottomless angst if being a teenager. In the spirit of Bridget Jones’ Diary, this fresh, irreverent, and simply hilarious book will leave you laughing out loud. As Georgia would say, it’s “fabbity fab fab!”

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned Louise Rennison before, but she is a brilliant, hilarious author. When I had the pleasure of meeting her, she was just fabbity fab fab. It was so nice to meet her because she was extremely friendly to me, especially as I was really young at the time! I think all of her writing is fantastic and this book is the first book that introduced me to her amazing writing. However I watched the movie before I read the books.

The first Georgia Nicolson book was my favourite because at the time I found it hilarious. I just remember sitting in class crying with my friend. Although this was four years ago so I don’t know how funny I’d find it now. Georgia is so ditzy that everything she does goes hilariously wrong; I also love how she has the same issues I do. Yeah, shaving off your eyebrow really isn’t a good idea, is it Georgia?

It’s written in such a chill way. Generally, I find books written in the style of a diary are easier/more interesting to read and more fulfilling. To be fair it’s probably easier to write as well. I like to know that Georgia is bored at 2:01pm and 2:13pm; it makes the book seem more realistic- which is what it should be as it’s a book for teenage girls to relate to.

I’m looking forward to completing my alphabet!

Leave a Reply

