Ceri’s Updates/Reviews (#24)

Good evening people

Well I have exciting news… I READ THE SELECTION! How amazing am I? I know, you don’t need to tell me. I make my own reality, this is my 90 degrees… (Kathy will appreciate that) So funnily enough tonight I shall be reviewing The Selection by Kiera Cass.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

First of all, thank you Kathy for forcing me to read this. Seriously, if Katherine ever recommends a book to you- I think you need to read it. Kathy knows what books I love/hate better than I do! Ok so if you haven’t guessed, this is now one of my favourite books. It’s romantic, dystopian and the main character is a bit like me… what’s not to like?

My favourite part is when America is being interviewed by that Gavril man and then Maxon made America tell the story about being rude to him on the first night. It made me chuckle because they are so cute together and he thought America was really funny. I love how they can tease each other as the other girls don’t do that with Maxon. It made her stand out to other peeps as well to make her become like a fave, which is good because I want her to win as she should be the one Maxon is with.

America is a really good main character because she has similarities to me and funnily enough I like me. She is strong and independent; she will speak her mind. I like it when people speak their mind because there’s no point in lying and you should be yourself. I’m glad Maxon falls in love with her because it shows that you don’t have to be all quiet and simpering to go out with a hot guy.

I am very much looking forward to reading the next two books! I already know what’s going to happen but that makes me want to read it more. The start of The Elite is very good…

 

Leave a Reply

