Ceri’s Updates/Reviews (#23)

Hello

I have scanned through all my posts to check if I’ve ever reviewed The Fault in Our Stars and to my surprise- I’ve only ever mentioned it. Therefore, I decided it was about time I wrote a review for it. In addition to this, my beautiful nanny sadly passed away this weekend and her story has many similarities to that of Hazel and Augustus.

Despite the tumour-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heart-breaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

The bottom line is, this book is really relatable. I can especially relate to how Hazel is feeling, as I’ve experienced it myself. John Green got it on point. For me, the most emotional part was when Augustus held his pre-funeral. This was even more powerful than Augustus’s actual funeral, which is the way I think it should be. “But, Gus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.” And “When the scientists from the future show up at my house with robot eyes and tell me to try them on, I will tell them to screw off because I do not want to see a world without him.” Had me absolutely bawling my eyes out.

I think knowing you are seeing someone suffering and fading right before your eyes, can be more painful than when they are gone. Of course, that is just my own personal viewpoint. John Green captures this in the way he describes Hazel losing Augustus. He completely seems to understand what it is like to be dying and for someone else to be dying. Like Directing Herbert White, this book is so raw and he is not holding anything back. John Green is not afraid to talk about death and he is not afraid to talk the truth.

Finally, The Fault in Our Stars has so many stand out quotes that can apply to different areas of life. It is beautiful that there are a whole host of quotes that bring people together. If you pick out all these individual quotes, they collectively tell the story of the book. There’s just something about all the quotes e.g. “Okay? Okay.”, “Some infinities are bigger than other infinities.” And “The world is not a wish granting factory.” –I don’t know what, but they are really special to me.

I’d be interested to hear how attached you are to the book, and if you have any favourite quotes from it.

Leave a Reply

