Ceri’s Random Posts (#19)

Hey!

I don’t know if any of you remember, but I was originally going to write a long ‘venty’ post about the criticism that some YA books have received. I understand that everyone has their own opinion but today I would like to respond to some criticism. So as I’m not rushing, I thought I might as well write it now! Well actually I’m supposed to do chemistry revision for my test tomorrow but books are more important, right? 😉 Here goes…

You may be aware that Stephen King said Stephenie Meyer “can’t write a darn. She’s not very good.” What is wrong with Stephenie Meyer? Obviously she can write a darn as over 100 million books have been sold worldwide of the Twilight saga. I really don’t understand why she gets so much hate. There are many, many more authors in the world that have written books much worse than her. Stephenie Meyer tells a beautiful story and I personally think she uses more advanced, appropriate language. There are descriptions in there that I think rival the likes of Harry Potter and The Hunger Games. In fact, I am of the opinion that Twilight has a much better story line than The Hunger Games.

The Fault in Our Stars has also been said to be written badly. I am intrigued to know what people think is written badly and how they would improve it. There’s no pleasing some people it seems. I can’t really talk because I can’t write but I really stand by it being written amazingly. Sorry bad word choice there oh dear. You guys already know from the last post that I think this book is ‘real’. This book is supposed to be something that many people can read, so I think this book should not necessarily be full of flouncy words but meaningful things that everyone can relate too.

Apparently, Divergent is now classed as ‘trashy’. Once again, I would like to ask why it’s considered trashy?? I also read that it is really predictable. Well I didn’t think it was predictable. I don’t know if it’s just me but how often does the main character die? Um. Even if it was predictable, that doesn’t take away anything from the rest of the story. Personally, I don’t find it the least bit trashy. Wait does that make sense? Well you know what I mean. It has a very respectable storyline with themes of love, sacrifice and bravery. “Fear doesn’t shut you down, it wakes you up.”

Well Good bye!

Oh and I would love to hear your views on famous YA books, positive or negative! Don’t worry if they’re negative, I won’t hate on you 😉

Leave a Reply

