The Jewel (Review #49)

Today’s book is The Jewel:

Series: #1 in the Lone City series

Author: Amy Ewing

Publisher: Walker Books

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Summary: Auctioned as a surrogate. Imprisoned in the palace of the Duchess of the Lake. Destined to carry the child of a woman she despises.

Violet is trapped in a living death, her name and body no longer her own. She fights to hold on to her identity and sanity, uncertain of the fate of her friends, isolated and at the mercy of the Duchess.

Then she meets another captive – Ash, the handsome royal companion. Drawn together, Violet and Ash are puppets in the deadly game of court politics, each the other’s jeopardy – and salvation.

Okay, where to start with this book? I liked it, but I also found it just meh. Don’t ask how, I’m still trying to work it out myself…

The concept was good and I loved the beginning. But towards the end, I just found myself confused and wondering why the author chose to do these things.

The descriptions were great and the cover that I have is gorgeous. I want to own the roses on the back.

The final page was different than what I expected and I can’t decide whether it was good or not…

 

Leave a Reply

