Ceri’s Tuesdays of Randomness (#17)

Hiya, Christmas has been and gone, and I want to hold onto that Christmas spirit. So, to get me (and you) more in the Christmas spirit again, I’m counting down my top five Christmas moments in books.

  1. Little Women- Louisa May Alcott

Earlier on in the chapter, the girls gave their Christmas breakfast away to poor people, which was a really nice thing to do at Christmas. It was very sweet of Beth to also be thinking of her Father at Christmas.

“I never had such a fine bouquet before! How pretty it is!” And Meg examined her flowers with great interest.

“They are lovely. But Beth’s roses are sweeter to me,” said Mrs. March, smelling the half-dead posy in her belt.

Beth nestled up to her, and whispered softly, “I wish I could send my bunch to Father. I’m afraid he isn’t having such a merry Christmas as we are.”

  1. Let It Snow- John Green

One of the best things about Christmas is snow and in particular- SNOW ANGELS!! This is why I absolutely love this bit from Let It Snow, because it’s so magical and Christmasy!

I scampered out of my angel and made another, but this time I used my gloves to give my angel horns. “Snow devil!” the Duke shouted, gleeful. With the snow all around us I felt like a little kid in one of those inflatable moon walks- I couldn’t get hurt by falling. I couldn’t get hurt by anything.

  1. Breaking Dawn- Stephenie Meyer

As you probably know, I am Twilight obsessed- so it shouldn’t come as a surprise to you that this was in my top 5 Christmas moments. I love all the gifts Renesmee gets and they seem so special. The thing I love doing most on Christmas Day is running downstairs and opening my presents, so I thought this was a cute touch to the book!

Renesmee wore the locket I’d given her at dawn, and in her jacket pocket was the MP3 player Edward had given her- a tiny thing that held five thousand songs, already filled with Edward’s Favorites. On her wrist was an intricately braided Quileute version of a promise ring. Edward had gritted his teeth at that one, but it didn’t bother me. Soon, so soon, I would be giving her to Jacob for safekeeping. How could I be bothered by any symbol of the commitment I was so relying on?

  1. The Mortal Instruments- Cassandra Clare

I love the bit in CoHF where Simon and Clary are present shopping, it makes me chuckle! I also love the one liners from Jace they’re just amazing.

“That’s my girlfriend you’re talking about.” Simon’s brows drew together. “I think. I’m not sure. We haven’t discussed it. The relationship, I mean.”

“You really have to DTR, Simon.”

“What?”

“Define the relationship. What it is, where it’s going. Are you boyfriend and girlfriend, just having fun, ‘it’s complicated,’ or what? When’s she going to tell her parents? Are you allowed to see other people?”

Simon blanched. “What? Seriously?”

“Seriously. In the meantime—perfume!” Clary grabbed Simon by the back of his coat and hauled him into a cosmetics store that had once been a bank.

 

“Waiting for a special occasion to kill me? Christmas is coming.”

 

 

“That does it,” said Jace. “I’m going to get you a dictionary for Christmas this year.”

“Why?” Isabelle said.

“So you can look up ‘fun.’ I’m not sure you know what it means.”

  1. A Christmas Carol- Charles Dickens

How could I not include something from A Christmas Carol? It’s the ultimate Christmas book. I really love the ending when Scrooge becomes a new man on Christmas Day!

Running to the window, he opened it, and put out his head. No fog, no mist; clear, bright, jovial, stirring, cold; cold, piping for the blood to dance to; Golden sunlight; Heavenly sky; sweet fresh air; merry bells. Oh, glorious! Glorious!

“What’s to-day!” cried Scrooge, calling downward to a boy in Sunday clothes, who perhaps had loitered in to look about him.

“Eh?” returned the boy, with all his might of wonder.

“What’s to-day, my fine fellow?” said Scrooge.

“To-day!” replied the boy. “Why, Christmas Day.”

“It’s Christmas Day!” said Scrooge to himself. “I haven’t missed it. The Spirits have done it all in one night. They can do anything they like. Of course they can. Of course they can. Hallo, my fine fellow!”

“Hallo!” returned the boy.

Leave a Reply

