Ceri’s Monday Updates (#15)

Helllloo

IT’S DECEMBER OMG IT’S ALMOST CHRISTMAS AND I CAN OPEN MY ADVENT CALENDER TODAYYY

Anyway this week I reread Mates, Dates: The Secret Story by Cathy Hopkins, so I’m going to be reviewing each of her series, because I just love all of them (apart from I’m not going to review Playlist for a broken heart as I’ve already done that in another post).

Mates, Dates

I adore the Mates, Dates series. Out of all the books I’ve read I’ve reread these books the most. They’re just perfect to read if you don’t really want to think about anything. Don’t get me wrong I love Twilight and things like that but it can be a bit heavy going. Also at the moment I’m still reading Bridget Jones’s Diary: The Edge of Reason and I do like it but it doesn’t particularly flow, like I can’t peacefully read it. However if I ever have any spare time I can lie down on my bed and read these books for hours. They’re just really lovely and ‘teenagery’ if that’s a thing.

Zodiac Girls

I thought I would hate these books but I read them anyway because I wanted to read all of Cathy Hopkin’s books. Actually I found them quite entertaining and a light read. I probably wouldn’t read them again but they were definitely really good and not too childish. As I call them, they’re not ‘effort’ books. I liked in anyway because it was about star signs and I like all that stuff.

Million Dollar Mates

Out of all of Cathy Hopkin’s books I like these the least apart from Love at Second Sight. I still liked them but they didn’t flow as much as her other books. I also didn’t feel like I knew any of the characters, I just wasn’t as involved. The story line didn’t impress me either. It wasn’t a ‘cosy’ book it felt clinical like the place the main girl was staying in. Although I did like the book set in India but it wasn’t as good as the Cinnamon Girl book that was set in Greece.

Truth, Dare, Kiss, Promise

I love this series! Not as much as Mates, Dates, but it’s still really good; I just wouldn’t reread it as much. My favourite bit was when Mates, Dates characters came to wherever the books are set and they met up with all the characters in these books. What I loved about these books was that each book was from a different person’s POV. It depends but normally I like it when there’s different POVs in the story so I was really happy. Plus, the books were all really romantic so that was me happy.

Cinnamon Girl

Ooh I didn’t actually like Cinnamon Girl to start with but there were actually some really good moments throughout the series. I especially liked the book set in Greece; it sounded really nice so I want to go there now. The only thing that bugged me was when she had three guys on the go and firstly I thought that was very unrealistic and secondly how many guys does she want. Then she was so indecisive it annoyed me.

Love at Second Sight

I don’t really like this book. It was ok at the end but it actually freaked me out a bit. The girl was trying to find out about her past life or something, which was just weird. Not being funny I had a nightmare one night; I just really didn’t like it. I do like it a bit though because it’s a Cathy Hopkins book.

Adios

Leave a Reply

