Ceri’s Tuesdays of Randomness (#9)

Aloha! MERRY CHRISTMAS, I wrapped it up and sent it, with a note saying I love you I meant it. I am so excited for Christmas js, I’ve had Last Christmas on repeat for ages. Right well today I’m doing best and worst sequels. I may have already mentioned some of these books and what I think of them before so sorry. By sequels I mean any book in the rest of a series so I might talk about book 5 in a series of 6 for example.

BEST #1

The Mortal Instruments: City of Heavenly Fire- Cassandra Clare

I adore The Mortal Instruments. Katherine has finally started reading them so I’m very proud of her. I love all of The Mortal Instruments and City of Heavenly Fire is definitely my favourite. It is just the perfect ending to a sensational series. I can’t believe what happened to Simon and who died and all that. There was lots of drama and everything but when I read it, it feels ‘homey’ if that’s a thing? Well I just feel comfortable and I really enjoy it, unlike The Infernal Devices; which I love, but I don’t know they’re not as engaging?

WORST #1

Eclipse- Stephenie Meyer

Right, I know I have already ranted about Eclipse but I think it’s necessary to have another rant. So yh this book was basically a filler book. I wasn’t engaged as much, it was just an unnecessary book. You could have put the half the contents in the other books or just cut it out. I didn’t like how the book focused on Victoria coming back to kill Bella when in the end it took like 5 minutes for Edward to kill her. Victoria’s extremely irritating no one cares mate it was just utterly predictable in a bad way.

BEST #2

Mates, Dates and Sizzling Summers- Cathy Hopkins

Again, this is another book that’s the last in the series. There’s something about the final books in series. They either make or break the series, it depends on how you tie/ or don’t tie all the loose ends. Personally, I hate cliff hangers- I need to know how everything ends. I loved this book as it combined Mates, Dates with the Truth, dare, kiss or promise series. I liked how they went to the beach, because it was like they were finished with the story and ending it with a holiday.

WORST #2

Allegiant- Veronica Roth

I loved Divergent so much and Insurgent was quite good, but omg I was so annoyed with the ending. I was so vexed about it, like what was the whole point of the trilogy? And Four didn’t deserve any of this as well!

BEST #3

Catching Fire- Suzanne Collins

This may shock many people, especially Katherine, who know I hate The Hunger Games. I have to say even though I hate it, it was a good sequel to it. There was a lot more going on in this it had a vivid storyline. I love the addition of Finnick- he’s great and I love Sam Claflin in the movie. The idea of the clock in the arena was really clever. To be honest, this book on its own is actually fine, I would prefer that to the trilogy. Catching Fire raised the reputation of The Hunger Games overall, for me.

WORST #3

Bridget Jones’s Diary: Mad about the boy- Helen Fielding

Um so let’s be honest here, I haven’t actually read it, BUT, I’m so annoyed it was even written what was the point ok it all ended happily let’s just leave it at that. I’ve read plenty of reviews and it seems that the book is basically about Bridget’s issues with modern things such as technology. That is just so overdone, come on what happened to the Bridget that was alcohol/fag orientated.

Well that was actually quite long. It took me like 4 hours to write so (not that I actually wrote for hours). Anyway see you next week!

Leave a Reply

