Going Back (Review #26)

IMG_4426Today’s review is of Going Back:

Author: Rachael English

Publisher: Orion Books

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Summary: Ireland, 1988. Elizabeth Kelly’s parents think she belongs at home; her boyfriend is certain of it. But, unwilling to settle down just yet, Elizabeth decides to spend the summer in Boston. Quiet and dutiful at home, she surprises herself and everyone else by falling in love with Danny, a restless charmer with a troublesome family – and everything changes. More than twenty years later, with opportunities in Ireland scarce once again, a new generation looks to America, awakening memories of a golden summer for their parents. When a crisis occurs, Elizabeth returns to Boston where she is drawn back to the life she once lived. But can she reconcile the dreams of her twenty year old self with the woman she has become?

I won this as a Goodreads Giveaway. Whilst the beginning felt slightly dull, the book improved over time. It doesn’t help that I started this midway in my reading slump. I then left it and picked it back up on holiday in Devon. I’m glad I did because I believe every book should have a second chance and though it isn’t my favourite book, it still ended well. A sweet little ending and as a debut novel, I think the author has done very well. Thank you for personalizing it too!! Overall, a good book that just didn’t fully settle with me.

Leave a Reply

