Ceri’s Monday Updates (#2)

G’day mate!

So today is my weekly updates post! I’m going to do sort of a book review about To Kill a Mockingbird, as well as talking about what books I’m excited about reading, and what I’m going to read next.

‘Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ‘em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.’

A lawyer’s advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee’s classic novel- a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with exuberant humour the irrationality of adult attitudes to race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence and hypocrisy, is pricked by the stamina of one man’s struggle for justice. But the weight of history will only tolerate so much.

I remember my sister studying To Kill a Mockingbird in the term I’m just about to go into at school, so I thought it would be good to read it before I went back. To be honest, I didn’t know what all the words meant but I understood what was happening so that was good. I actually love this book now, and I can’t believe how unwilling I was to read it in the first place.

It’s a bit of a shocker I like this book, as I only like YA romance books really. I just thought this book was so ‘eeeee’ and I can’t wait for Katherine to read it so we can squeal about it together. I’m not sure why, but I just want to talk about this book with everyone now because I can’t believe how amazing it is.

I’m trying to fight the urge to say this book is so cute. I think that Boo Radley or ‘Mr. Arthur’ is so cute, and so is the ending. To be honest I find a lot of things cute in this book, even though there’s a lot of horrible stuff in there. I’m glad Scout narrated it because if Atticus did, I don’t think I’d understand any of it.

I can’t wait to watch the movie, I’m hopefully going to watch it this evening! It’s good I read the book first because then hopefully I should be alright watching the movie!

Speaking of movies, I’m so excited to see If I Stay. I saw the trailer on TV whilst on holiday, and it looked so good that I downloaded the book and read it that day. If I Stay is out on the 31st August in England, and it stars Chloe Moretz and Jamie Blackley.

Another book adaption I’m excited about is The Giver. I must confess- I haven’t actually read the book but Jack and Jack went to see it so I’m sure it’ll be amazing…

The next book I’m going to read is Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare. I can’t wait to start reading this because I am a huge Cassandra Clare fan! I read Clockwork Angel on holiday and I was so annoyed because I’d left the rest of the series at home- but now I can read them. Next Monday I’ll let you know how I’m getting on with it!

Leave a Reply

