Book To Movie Adaptations

Book To Movie Adaptations are a big thing at the moment. The Fault In Our Stars, Divergent, The Hunger Games and Twilight are some examples of this. Problem is though, is that so many people can watch the movie and claim that “I’ve watched the movie, I don’t need the book…” However, the whole point of this is that these movies wouldn’t be here if these authors hadn’t written those books.

So, why should film companies get all of the revenue for movies when there is a book sitting on a shelf in a shop waiting for you to read it which has been made into a movie? If you’re going to claim that you don’t need the book after you’ve watched the film, buy the book and read it before you watch the movie. Also, the movies are hardly ever as good as the book, because authors get no/hardly any input into the movie. The author’s ideas about the characters and setting could be really useful but apparently the author of the book isn’t good enough to create a good movie. It’s nicer to see authors being allowed to have more input and their names being shown on the credits for Producer or Co-Director.

So the next time someone comes up to me and says, “Well, that wasn’t as good as the book.” or “I don’t need the book.”, I will have this rant at them. And yes, it is a rant and I admit it but it’s something I feel strongly about because they’re becoming a lot bigger and people need to hear my opinion! I love books and I love movies so when people say things about them, I get very protective. What do you think about this?

Well, my feelings have definitely been portrayed now. So, on the subject of BTMA’s, what ones are you most looking forward to this year? If you could have one book made into a movie, what would it be? Comment below with your ideas…

Leave a Reply

