Turning The Page (#3)

Turning The Page is my event where I add the current page of the book I’m reading RIGHT NOW!! Exceptions of this is where the page gives away spoilers as I know how frustrating that can be…

The book that I’m currently reading (or technically, about to start) is Divergent by Veronica Roth… The publisher is Harper Collins and I’m on Page 2… Here it is:

In my reflection, I see a narrow face, wide, round eyes and a long, thin nose – I still look like a little girl, though sometime in the last few months I turned sixteen. The other factions celebrate birthdays, but we don’t. It would be self-indulgent. “There,” she says when she pins the knot in place. Her eyes catch mine in the mirror. It is too late to look away, but instead of scolding me, she smiles at our reflection. Why doesn’t she reprimand me for staring at myself? “So today is the day,” she says.

“Yes,” I reply.

“Are you nervous?” I stare into my own eyes for a moment. Today is the day of the aptitude test that will show me which of the five factions I belong in. And tomorrow, at the Choosing Ceremony, I will decide on a faction: I will decide the rest of my life; I will decide to stay with my family or abandon them. “No,” I say. “The tests don’t have to change our choices.”

“Right.” She smiles. “Let’s go eat breakfast.”

“Thank you. For cutting my hair.” She kisses my cheek and slides the panel over the mirror. I think my mother could be beautiful, in a different world. Her body is thin beneath the gray robe. She has high cheekbones and long eyelashes, and when she lets her hair down at night, it hangs in waves over her shoulders. But she must hide that beauty in Abnegation.

I literally cannot wait to read this! I finally obtained a copy from Ceri and it looks stunning. After watching the movie, I was desperate to read the book. This is an amazing opening too! What do you think?

Leave a Reply

