Blood Family (Review #4)

Image Today’s review is of Blood Family:

Author: Anne Fine

Publisher: Random House

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Summary: Locked away by his mother’s monster of a boyfriend, Edward is seven years old before a neighbour spots his pale face peering through a crack in the boarded-up window. Rescue comes, but lasting damage has been done. Years on, it’s clear to Edward’s new adoptive family that something in his past that haunts him still. Then Edward catches sight of a photograph that shocks him to the core. Could there be yet another monster in his life who has been waiting to break out all along?

I found out about this book for the Carnegie Awards. I have to say, the writing was very good. However, the book just felt like it wasn’t for me. I struggled to finish reading and when I did, it felt like a waste of time for me. Edward’s character didn’t connect with me and I felt like I was actually reading a story. Good books for me, have to make me feel like it’s reality. The subject was not for me, The genre felt wrong (I’m more romance, dystopian) and the storyline was confusing with the quick change of POV’s…  I don’t know whether because it’s not my genre that I found the book not engrossing enough. Although the writing was good, it was a disappointing book for me.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

